amaryllis log

The good cape

Here’s the facts on the “good cape”…

Fabric: a very nice medium weight wool purchased at Treadle Yard Goods during their winter sale.

Pattern: purchased from Tessuti, here’s the link:

Year: 2011

Time to complete: I would say all told about 14 hours. The actual cape comes together quickly but there are Hong Kong seams and wool binding along the edges. A bit of hand sewing but it’s all good and a very enjoyable ride.

Wear Again: Absolutely!

Insight: I had thought since the sizing of this cape is made to fit many and it actually looked small when I laid it out I needed to make adjustments. In all honesty I wasn’t sure what the translation between AU and our sizing was, so I decided to add 3″ to the length. I made a muslin based on my alternations and I’m really glad I did. By adding the 3″ it looked completely out of wack proportionally. I took off 1.5″ and found that was the right amount. Glad I took the time to make a muslin, so worth it.

Close-up of my Hong Kong seams.


  1. I know, I have posted on this cape before. But.. as I checked out your new blog.. It just amazed me ,when I saw it again…
    If a little fairly , sneaks in your house, and gets this lovely cape.. I just bet I will get blamed..I love it.ha
    KNow you will enjoy its warmth and beauty this fall.. Happy seWING.!!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,758 other followers

